## **REGULAR BOARD MEETING**

The State of Texas )(

Grayson County Junior College District

County of Grayson )(

At 12:24 pm on the seventh day of August 2015, the following members were present for the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Grayson County Junior College District, held in the Administrative Services Building Boardroom on the College campus, Denison, Texas:

Dr. Mack Broiles	- President
Mr. Ronnie Cole	- Vice President
Dr. Debbie Plyler	- Secretary
Mr. Bill McFatridge	- Member
Mr. Ralph Jones	- Member
Mr. Rad Richardson	- Member

The following board member was absent:

Mrs. Jackie Butler - Member

Other College staff members present were: Dr. Jeremy McMillen, President; Mr. Giles Brown, Vice President of Business Services; Dr. Regina Organ, Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs; Mr. Gary Paikowski, Vice President of Information Technology; Ms. Mary Linder, Faculty President; Mrs. Shelle Cassell, Director of Marketing and Public Information; Mr. Randy Truxal, Executive Director of Grayson Foundation; Dr. Chase Machen, Dean of Academics; Mr. Steve Davis, Dean of Workforce; Mrs. Joanna Barnes, Dean of Health Sciences; Mrs. Djuna Forrester, Executive Director of Center for Workplace Learning; and Dr. Dava Washburn, Associate Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs. Guests present were Mr. Mike Wynne, College Attorney, and his assistant, Emily Parker. President Broiles called the meeting to order. President Broiles recognized Mr. Mike Wynne with Wynne & Smith. Dr. Broiles reported that the board had been asked to listen to a Level IV Appeal on a student grade. Due to the student not attending the board meeting, the board took no action on the grade appeal.

After discussion with the board, President Broiles requested the following consent agenda items be removed from the consent agenda:

- b. Consideration of 2015 Proposed Tax Rate
- c. Consideration of Public Hearings of 2015 Proposed Tax Rate
- g. Consideration of date for Public Hearing of 2015-2016 Proposed Budget

Upon a motion by Dr. Debbie Plyler and a second by Mr. Rad Richardson, the following consent agenda items were unanimously approved:

- a. Approval of Minutes from Regular Meeting on June 23, 2015
- d. Consideration of TASB Update 30 Local Policies
- e. Consideration of Revised FFD (LOCAL)
- f. Consideration of Memorandum of Understanding with Grayson College Foundation

Dr. McMillen reported that the current total tax rate was \$.1815 and an effective rate of \$.179289. The College is proposing that the 2015 Tax Rate will be composed of a maintenance and operation rate of \$.13384 and a debt service rate of \$.04756. Upon a motion by Dr. Plyer to place on the August 25, 2015 regular meeting agenda a proposal to adopt the 2015 tax rate of \$.1814 per \$100 valuation and a second by Mr. Ronnie Cole, the motion passed.

The College must hold two required public hearings for the proposed 2015 tax rate. Upon a motion by Mr. Ronnie Cole to hold the public hearings on Monday, August 17, 2015 and Friday, August 21, 2015 and a second by Mr. Bill McFatridge, the motion passed unanimously.

The College proposed that the public hearing for the 2015-2016 proposed budget be held at 11:30 am on Tuesday, August 25, 2015. Upon a motion by Dr. Debbie Plyler and a second by Mr. Ralph Jones, the motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Organ presented the Enrollment report and stated that the college is currently at 84% of Fall 2014 enrollment. The College's Fall 2015 goal is 4,800. Additionally, the College conducted its "One and Done Day" registration event on August 6<sup>th</sup>, and regular registration will run through August 16, 2015.

Dr. McMillen presented the President's Report. The report is attached and made part of these minutes. Highlights from the report include an update on the College website; Title IX Training for seven GC employees; and a TWC Skills Development Fund grant for Dual Credit welding.

Dr. McMillen reported that the College had received a resignation from the following employees: Ms. Laura Kincheloe, ADN Instructor and Ms. Deborah Bump, LVN Instructor. Upon a motion by Dr. Debbie Plyer and a second by Mr. Ralph Jones, the board accepted these resignations with regret.

At 12:48 pm, Dr. Broiles announced that the Board would conduct a closed session under the Texas Education Code 441.0785 for the purpose of the security audit. At 1:54 pm, the Board reconvened in open session. No action was taken by the board.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 1:57 p.m

Secretary

APPROVED AND ADOPTED:

President, Board of Trustees